How we are organised

PYGYRG comprises of its members who are defined in two ways: (1) the formal membership list compiled by the RGS and (2) the wider email discussion list (PYGYWG@JISCMAIL.AC.UK). ‘Members’ incorporates both groups as many of our most active participants are not formally members of the RGS.

There are 3 formal officer positions of the research group as defined by the RGS: the Chair, Secretary and Treasurer. The group must have each of these three roles to function as a formal RGS research group.

In addition there are a number of other roles that the group organises itself, such as Website officer, Postgraduate rep, Librarian, and Dissertation Prize coordinator.

Finally there is a broader Advisory Board that is populated by those who have previously either held formal officer positions in the group or been heavily involved in the group in the past.

Roles 2015-16

Committee

Role Name Affiliation Email
Chair Jenny Pickerill Sheffield j.m.pickerill@sheffield.ac.uk
Secretary Sam Halvorsen Cambridge  sth31@cam.ac.uk
Treasurer Sophie Wynne-Jones Bangor s.wynne-jones@bangor.ac.uk
Postgraduate Officer Catherine Oliver Birmingham CCO113@student.bham.ac.uk
Social Media Coordinator Eveleigh Buck-Matthews  Coventry eveleigh.bm@hotmail.com
Prize Coordinator Matej Blazek Loughborough m.blazek@lboro.ac.uk
Librarian Kye Askins Glasgow Kye.Askins@glasgow.ac.uk
Translation Editor Ivette Hernandez IoE
ivehersant@gmail.com

Advisory Board

Name Affiliation Email
Kye Askins Glasgow University Kye.Askins@glasgow.ac.uk
Peter North Liverpool University P.J.North@liverpool.ac.uk
Louise Waite Leeds University L.Waite@leeds.ac.uk
Sara Kindon Victoria University, NZ sara.kindon@vuw.ac.nz
Farhana Sultana Syracuse University, USA sultanaf@syr.edu
Paul Routledge Leeds University p.routledge@leeds.ac.uk
Mike Kesby St Andrews University mgk@st-andrews.ac.uk

How decisions are made

We seek to act in a spirit of inclusiveness and participation. Decisions are made in three ways: (1) by participants at the away weekends and AGM, (2) by the core committee, and (3) by the core committee in consultation with the Advisory Board. Only if issues are considered controversial, complex or challenging is the Advisory Board asked for its advice.

Appointment of new officers

This will be agreed by vote at the AGM. Nominations should be submitted to the existing committee in writing one week before the AGM.

Core activities of the group

The RGS has identified 10 core activities that it expects research groups to undertake:

  1. Grant applications
  2. Undertake collaborative research
  3. Host activities at RGS conference
  4. Convene workshops, seminars and conferences
  5. Encourage postgrad participation
  6. Maintain and update websites
  7. Publish books, CD-Roms and journals
  8. Distribute newsletters and bulletins
  9. Promote undergraduate and postgraduate research activity
  10. Nominate colleagues for awards

PYGYRG has historically focused on:

  1. Running annual away weekends
  2. Sponsoring sessions at the annual RGS-IBG Conference
  3. Having dissertation prizes
  4. Running training days
  5. Maintaining a website

Comments are closed.